LCDQ Presents “One of a Kind” Programs and Designers for LEGENDS 2016


The La Cienega Design Quarter has opened registration and announced programming for the 8th annual LEGENDS design extravaganza, which yearly draws thousands to Los Angeles for 3 days of keynotes, discussions, book signings and signature social events. The theme for LEGENDS 2016 is One of a Kind, and the dates are Tuesday, May 3, to Thursday, May 5, 2016.

Programming will center on 8 keynote panels curated by the LCDQ board. While esteemed national and regional magazine editors will helm the panels as in past years, this year some keynotes will take a slightly different twist with designers actually moderating, instead of being a guest participant. Examples:

  • Collected:  Living with the Things You Love in A Well Curated Home

Moderated by Nate Berkus, author, interior designer and television host

  • When Disaster Strikes!  An honest appraisal of bad clients, bad business and how to avoid making the same mistakes, over and over

Moderated by Madeline Stuart, Architectural Digest Top 100 and Elle Decor A-List Interior Designer

The cornerstone of the LEGENDS event is the windows of the LCDQ, which are transformed on the year’s theme.  Berkus, along with celebrated British designer Nina Campbell of London, Robert Stilin from New York, designer and author Jay Jeffers of San Francisco, Bravo’s “Million Dollar Decorator” Jeffrey Alan Marks, Andrew Brown from Birmingham, Ala., Ellen DeGeneres “Design Challenge” collaborator Jane Hallworth of Los Angeles, and rising design star Brian Paquette from Seattle are among the 60+ interior designers selected to transform the LCDQ windows on the theme of “One of a Kind.”  (Complete list of window designers is below.)

One of the most anticipated design events on the national calendar and the largest event of its kind on the West Coast, LEGENDS is a 3-day celebration of design that brings influencers, enthusiasts, top design editors, and purveyors of design to the LCDQ for keynote panels, cocktail parties, receptions, book signings, personal appearances and trunk shows.

This year, 9 social media stars on Instagram have been invited to serve as LEGENDS Ambassadors:

  1. Will Taylor-Willis, @brightbazaar
  2. Justina Blakeney, @justinablakeney
  3. Amber Lewis, @amberinteriors
  4. Orlando Soria, @mrorlandosoria
  5. Anthony D’Argenzio, @zioandsons
  6. Sarah Sherman Samuel, @sarahshermansamuel
  7. Dabito, @dabito
  8. Holly Phillips, @theenglishroom
  9. Marisa Marcantonio, @stylebeatblog

LEGENDS 2016 will mark the first year that the opening night Gala will be on a Tuesday, and programming and parties will be held on Wednesday and Thursday. On Friday the 50+ members of the quarter will host open houses for a festive “shopping day.”

For a list of all keynotes and programming booked to date, visit

ABOUT LEGENDS: In its eighth consecutive year, LEGENDS has attracted over 80,000 attendees and garnered more than 200 million media impressions in 2014 and 2015 alone.  The parties, lunches and programs are a huge draw, with as many as 800 people at the kick-off party in previous years and capacity audiences of 150-250 at the programs held in LCDQ member shops and showrooms. LEGENDS 2016 presenting sponsors are 1stdibs and Coldwell Banker Previews International. Chairish is the Social Media Sponsor. National media sponsors: Elle Decor, House Beautiful, Luxe Interiors + Design, Metropolitan Home, Milieu, Traditional Home and Veranda. Regional media sponsors are C magazine, California Home + Design, California Homes and San Francisco Cottages & Gardens. Corporate sponsors: New York Design Center and Santa Barbara Umbrella. Fig & Olive is the Gala co-sponsor.

ABOUT LCDQ: The La Cienega Design Quarter was founded in 2008 to promote the burgeoning antiques and design neighborhood on one of Los Angeles’ oldest thoroughfares. Since the 1950s, La Cienega Boulevard has been the leading destination for interior design, shopped by icons like William Haines, Elsie de Wolfe, Tony Duquette, Frances Elkins, Chet Chidester, Michael Taylor and Kalef Alaton. Today La Cienega (running north-south through Los Angeles and West Hollywood) and Melrose (an east-west street) continue to be the leading destination as top designers, celebrities and selective shoppers from nationwide source the most unique design in the world from the shops, galleries and showrooms of the LCDQ.

A list of 2016 participating window designers is below. The designer list and programming are subject to change.

For further information about LCDQ and LEGENDS visit

LEGENDS 2016 “One of a Kind” Window Designers

Alisa Moffett – Hollywood Sierra Kitchens

Amy Meier – Janet Yonaty

Andrew Brown – Dragonette

Antonio Buzzetta – Dragonette

Bill Ingram – Kristen Buckingham

Brian Pacquette – Cote Jardin Antiques

Brown Design Group – Marc Phillips Decorative Rugs

Cari Berg – Reborn Antiques

Christina Karras – Marc Phillips Decorative Rugs

Christos Prevezanos – Farrow & Ball

David Desmond – McKinnon & Harris

David Netto – Hollywood at Home

Delta Wright – Mehraban Rugs

Denise Kuriger – Remains Lighting

Elizabeth Dinkel – Serena & Lily

Erinn Valencich – George Smith Handmade Furniture & Fabrics

Espace Design – Tufenkian Artisan Carpets

Jane Hallworth – Fuller & Roberts

James Magni – Stark Home

Jamie Bush – Richard Shapiro

Janice Francois & Kate Balfour of Abramson Teiger Architects – Natural Curiosities

Jay Jeffers – Arteriors

Jeff Andrews – Mansour Modern

Jeffrey Alan Marks – Jonas Fine Upholsterers and Curtain Makers

John Turturro – Antique Rug Co./ The Rug Affair

Kate Stamps – Claremont Furnishing Fabrics Co.

Ken Kehoe – Reborn Antiques

Kim Alexandriuk – Downtown

Kimberly Colletti – Mehraban Rugs

Kirk Nix – Janet Yonaty

Lonni Paul – Gina Berschneider

Mark D. Sikes – Mecox

Malcolm James Kutner – Harbinger

Mark Cutler – Gina Berschneider

Marmol Radziner – Marc Phillips Decorative Rugs

Marjorie Skouras – DowntownMaxime Jacquet – Jamal’s Rug Collection

Meg Joannides – Harbinger

Melinda Ritz – Hollywood at Home

Michelle Workman – Baker Furniture

Molly Luetkemeyer – Harbinger by Hand

Nate Berkus – Lee Stanton

Nicole Gordon Studio – Maine Design

Nina Campbell – Hollyhock

Pamela Jewell – Woven Accents

Parker Kennedy Living – Barclay Butera Interiors

Platner & Co. – George Smith Handmade Furniture & Fabrics

Ramey Caulkins – Elizabeth Eakins

Robert Stilin – Lee Stanton

Ryan White – Waterworks

Sam Allen – Barclay Butera Interiors

Sebastien Leon – Jean de Merry

Sheldon Harte – Jamal’s Rug Collection

Studio William Hefner – Renaissance Design Studio

TagFront – Sherle Wagner

Tammy Connor – Hollyhock

Tommy Chambers – Reborn Antiques

Vance Burke – Nicky Rising

Vincent Jacquard – Compas