Design Futures Council Announces 2015 Honorary Senior Fellows

2015.0914.Nwy.DesignFuturesCouncilThe Design Futures Council (DFC) announced the elevation of fourteen new Honorary Senior Fellows.

The Design Futures Council Senior Fellowship is granted annually to outstanding individuals who have provided noteworthy leadership to the advancement of design and related professions. Senior Fellows of the DFC are recognized for significant contributions toward the understanding of changing trends, new research, and applied knowledge that improve the built environment and the human condition.

This year’s new Senior Fellows include:
• Maurice Cox: Planning Director, City of Detroit
• Abel Joseph “Jack” Diamond: Principal, Diamond Schmitt Architects
• Trudy Dujardin: Founder, Dujardin Design
• Scott Findley: Design Partner, 10 Design
• Cindy Frewen-Wuellner: CEO of Frewen Architects, Professor at the University of Houston, and Board Chair/CEO of the Association of Professional Futurists
• Diane Hoskins: Co-CEO, Gensler
• Valerie Jacobs: LPK, Vice President and Group Director, Trends
• Scott Jenkins: General Manager of New Atlanta Stadium; Board Chair of Green Sports Alliance
• Jason McLennan: CEO, International Living Future Institute
• George Miller: Managing Partner, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
• Thompson Penney: Chairman/President/CEO of LS3P
• John Peterson: Founder & President of Public Architecture; Curator of the Loeb Fellowship at Harvard
• Kenneth Schwartz: Dean of the Tulane School of Architecture
• Mark Wight: Chairman and CEO of Wight & Co.
• Doug Wignall: President, HDR Architecture

“We are in an era of game changing trends that are redefining global risk and power,” said James P. Cramer, co-founder and chairman of the organization. “The leadership role of design is of critical importance toward the creation of a healthier and happier planet. The new Senior Fellows of the Design Futures Council have been selected for the tremendous impact they have had on our world. Each is noteworthy for providing new hope and direction.”

The final selection is made by the Senior Fellows selection committee of the DFC executive board. Senior Fellowships will be awarded at the Design Futures Council Leadership Summit on Sustainable Design, which will take place from October 11-13, 2015 in Dallas, Texas.

More about the 2015 Senior Fellows:

About the Design Futures Council
The Design Futures Council is an independent and interdisciplinary network of design, product, construction and real estate leaders who explore trends, challenges, and opportunities to advance innovation and shape the future of the AEC industry and environment. The DFC integrates the latest research to benefit the built environment, improve the way we design and build, and strengthen member organizations. The organization challenges conventions and limiting beliefs, offering instead fresh intelligence, innovation, and strategic optimism to enable the design, product, construction and real estate industry to improve the human condition. The DFC was co-founded in 1994 by Dr. Jonas Salk and James P. Cramer, the organization’s current chairman.