ASID IL Honors Chicago’s Top Designers at Design Excellence Awards

On Thursday, Sept. 28, the American Society of Interior Designers – Illinois Chapter (ASID-IL), held its annual Celebration of Design and Design Excellence Awards, paired with the association’s Annual Meeting. The 2017 Design Excellence Award winners were announced during the celebration at Marshall’s Landing in the historic Merchandise Mart.

ASID-IL President Jase Frederick recapped highlights of the past year and discussed the important role of design, and designers, in positively impacting the built environment and the human experience.

“Being an involved member of ASID means being a part of something larger than yourself. Our members’ engagement makes all the difference in our Chapter’s success,” Frederick said. “Finding and taking the opportunities to learn, interact and lead across all sectors of our industry makes us better designers, better professionals and better humans.”

The Design Excellence Awards program recognized the ASID-IL membership for professional accomplishments and celebrated the chapter’s recent body of work. A total of 20 Design Excellence Awards were presented to honorees who excelled in the areas of Contract, Residential, Historic Restoration and Product Design.

A distinguished panel of judges from ASID local chapters in Alaska, Arizona, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Texas Gulf Coast anonymously reviewed the submissions.

Event sponsors included Presenting Sponsor, Farrow & Ball; Diamond Sponsor, Cosentino; and Silver Sponsors, Fine Line Tile and Baird’s Drapery Services. Modern Luxury Interiors Chicago served as the event’s exclusive luxury media partner.

Design Excellence Award Winners:

Category: New Product Innovation
Firm: Artisan Electronics Group

Category: Contract Project Under 3,000 SF
Firm: Vinci-Hamp Architects & Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Category: Contract Project 3,000 – 10,000 SF
Firm: Techno Ltd.

Category: Contract Project Over 10,000 SF
Firm: SmithGroupJJR

Category: Retail
Firm: Fredman Design Group

Category: Hospitality
Firm: Tom Stringer Design Partners

Category: Education
Firm: Eckenhoff Saunders Architects

Category: Contract Project by Small Firm
Firm: Enhance Design

Category: Furnishings
Firm: Frank Ponterio Interior Design

Category: Lighting
Firm: Robin Thomas Design, LLC

Category: Kitchen
Firm: Katherine Elizabeth Design

Category: Kitchen by Small Firm
Firm: P.S.A. Interiors, Ltd.

Category: Bathroom by Small Firm
Firm: Pipa Bradbury Design

Category: Residence Under 3000 SF
Firm: Inspired Interiors

Category: Residence Over 3000 SF
Firm: Michael Abrams Interiors

Category: Residence By Small Firm
Firm: Michelle Glennon Interior Design

Category: Universal Design
Firm: Mature Transitions by Design

Category: Singular Space
Firm: Linc Thelen

Category: Showcase Space
Firm: Donna Mondi Interior Design

Category: Outdoor Space
Firm: Inspired Interiors

Category: People’s Choice
Firm: Mitchell Channon Design

About ASID-IL:

The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) is a community of people —designers, industry representatives, educators and students — committed to interior design. Through education, knowledge sharing, advocacy, community building and outreach, the Society strives to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively change people’s lives. Its more than 30,000 members engage in a variety of professional programs and activities through a network of 48 chapters throughout the United States and Canada.

The American Society of Interior Designers – Illinois Chapter (ASID-IL) is a professional association representing the interests of more than 1,100 Illinois interior designers, students and design industry partner members. Its vision is to be the voice of design in Illinois, to provide information through quality, timely communications, to educate its members and clients and to grow and support market expansion. ASID-IL is led by a volunteer board that includes the Chapter’s president, president-elect, five directors and two student representatives. Please visit for more information.